UVic Libraries subscribes to a number of newspaper collections featuring Scottish titles. These are listed below. Look for 'Browse Publications by Location' or "Publication Search" to get to the Scottish titles.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection NewspapersA digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets of the 17th and 18th centuries from the United Kingdom. This collection includes: British Journal; Daily Courant; Daily Gazetteer; Daily Post; Evening Post; General Advertiser; Lloyd's Evening Post and British Chronicle; London Chronicle; London Evening Post; London Gazette; Morning Chronicle and London Advertiser; St. James' Chronicle or, British Evening Post; Whitehall Evening Post, or London Intelligencer.
19th Century British NewspapersCollection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain. This full-text, fully searchable digital archive includes 50 papers originating in England, Scotland and Ireland, carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century. The collection is made up of daily and weekly publications and reflects Britain's growing role as a superpower in the 19th century world.
19th Century UK PeriodicalsFully-searchable facsimile resource for the study of British life in the 19th century - from art to business, and from children to politics. Few of the materials in this extensive online collection have ever been reissued, in any format since original publication. All the original colour work has been specially captured for this programme.
Ask us