Skip to Main Content
Databases
-
Dictionary of Irish Biography
Published in collaboration with the Royal Irish Academy, the Dictionary of Irish Biography is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical reference work available both in print and online for Ireland. From James Ussher to James Joyce, St Patrick to Patrick Pearse, St Brigit to Maud Gonne ...
-
American National Biography Online
Portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the United States of America.
-
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
The Dictionary of Canadian Biography, whose first volume appeared in 1966, is a joint project of the University of Toronto and the Université Laval and presents the work of researchers and writers in many fields from across Canada and around the world.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Profiles of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.
-
Nexis Uni
Full-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information for a wide range of academic research projects. Includes extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790 and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives.
-
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Please note: This database is licenced for 3 simultaneous user only. Please log off at the end of your session. An illustrated collection of 59,558 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2011. Excludes living people.
-
Who's Who and Who Was Who Online
Access to up-to-date autobiographies of over 33,000 influential people in British Life today, and 90,000 entries from all of Who Was Who. Detailed information gives users fascinating insight into the private lives of public figures, and direct reciprocal links with Dictionary of National Biography allows users to compare how persons classified their own lives versus how history views them.
Ask us