LibGuides: Linguistics: Find Articles

How to Find Journal Articles

If you know the exact title of the article, use Library Search, put " " around the title to run an exact search.
For journal articles dated back long time ago which can not be located in Library Search,
- First find the journal, note the call number.
- Use the "Show me Where" link found on the right hand side of the book record to see where in the library, or sometimes on Campus the journal can be found.
- Go to the book stacks to locate the volume# and issue# where your article was published.

Option 1: scan the reference list/bibliography of articles/books you already have to find citations of articles of interest to you.

Option 2: search for the articles/books you already have in Google Scholar to see what journal articles have cited them.

Option 3: search for the articles/books you already have in Web of Science to see what journal articles have cited them.

Identify search terms, synonyms, variant spellings and related words(See "Getting Started")
Combine your search terms with operators and truncation/wildcard symbols.
Run searches in the databases recommended in this guide. See here for more tips on database search.
If you like, you can also start your searches in the Library Search, use the filters to limit the results to Scholarly & Peer-reviewed journal articles.
You can also try Google Scholar, which sometimes may help you identify better key words.

Interlibrary Loan Services at UVic
Interlibrary loan provides you with resources from other libraries when UVic does not hold the item you need for your study or research.

The following databases have very good coverage of peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles in the subject area.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Linguistics
Scroll down the page to ARTICLES AND CONTRIBUTORS for a list of articles on specific topics.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Abstracts and indexes of international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Project MUSE
Provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs. Includes full text articles of over 100 research journals from a variety of fields, with special strength in the humanities. Subjects covered include French, German, Greek and Roman, History, Linguistics, Literature, Medieval Studies, Music, Pacific and Asian, Public Administration, and Russian.
JSTOR
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Dates of coverage range from the sixteenth century to the present.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Directory of Periodicals provides detailed information on journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. The directory is a valuable resource for scholars seeking outlets to publish their work.
Other useful databases for Linguistics