govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. (Source: website) Replaces FDSYS
Statista provides statistics, reports, facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries. Includes: digital & trend, consumer; industry, politics & society, brands & company, and country reports; market outlooks; industry statistics; infographics; and business plan exporter.
The Global Survey tool is not included in our subscription.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Apartheid South Africa 1948-1980
Contains British government files and maps related to South Africa under the first thirty years of the apartheid regime. Of interest to students, researchers and teachers of African history, the British Empire, race relations and the Cold War.
The Azrieli Series of Holocaust Survivor Memoirs is guided by the conviction that each survivor of the Holocaust has a remarkable story to tell, and that such stories play an important role in education about tolerance and diversity. This collection features over 70 full-length memoirs written by survivors. The series is published by The Azrieli Foundation’s Holocaust Survivor Memoirs Program.
Local governments in British Columbia include municipalities (i.e. villages, towns, districts and cities), regional districts (including municipal and non-municipal electoral areas), improvement districts, and the Islands Trust, as established by the Local Government Act of B.C. There are also First Nations governments established by treaty, federal legislation, or self-government agreement. The goal of this collection is to include these local and First Nations government entities of Vancouver Island (B.C.).
C19 consists of over 22.8 million records from the following sources: Books: Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC): 1.3 million records, including a new fourth series of 25,000 records relating to British Library acquisitions made or catalogued since the original NSTC was compiled. ProQuest acquired the NSTC in May 2005 and relaunched it as a Chadwyck-Healey product in November 2005. Previously available as a multi-volume print series or on two CD-ROMs, this is the only web based version of this resource. The Nineteenth Century: 34,400 records from Chadwyck-Healey's ongoing microform project at the British Library, The Nineteenth Century. Catalogue records created to accompany The Nineteenth Century are produced with reference to the printed source described and are unusually detailed for a project of this scale. The title, imprint and colophon are transcribed in full and there is an exact breakdown of the pagination. Periodicals: Over 17 million articles are available in C19 from a range of sources, including: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature: Over 450,000 articles indexed by subject. The C19 edition of this famous index has been faithfully reproduced so users can search subject entries alongside other periodical indexes or browse all entries alphabetically. Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals (1824-1900): Over 90,000 article records and 11,000 contributor records from 43important British periodicals indexed by scholars with author attributions for articles that were originally published anonymously or pseudonymously. This is the first web-based version of this famous, scholarly index which was previously only available on CD-ROM. Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online (1790-1919): Over 4.4 million articles from more than 900 scholarly journals in these two collections. British Periodicals Collection I and Collection II: Over 3.2 million articles from more than 300 journals covering the period 1790–1931. American Periodicals Series (1770-1919): Over 7.3 million articles from over 1,100 American magazines, newspapers, and journals from APS. American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries – more than 1.2 million records for 19th- and early 20th-century periodicals that illustrate the growth of America's influence on business and industry, trade, and culture. Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849: more than 389,000 item-level subject entries relating to the 30,000 printed pages that comprise Niles' Register, a highly influential weekly American newspaper which offered comprehensive coverage of news and current affairs in United States and the wider world. Government Documents: House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (1801-1900): 98,000 records from the Subject Catalogue to the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1801 - 1919. Congressional Serial Set and American State Papers (partnership with LexisNexis) The Proceedings of the Old Bailey – 168,000 records for trials that were held at London's central court from 1770-1913. Both the metadata and full text for the Proceedings since 1770 are searchable in the C19 Index from a dedicated search screen. Newspapers: Palmer's Index to the Times (1790-1905): 3.7 million articles from Palmer's Index to the Times of London. Archives: Discover almost 62,000 collections from archives across the United States. Reference The Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism – a one-volume reference work with over 1,600 entries detailing British and Irish newspaper and periodical publishing in the nineteenth century. The online edition of DNCJ features newly commissioned entries added since the publication of the print edition
The College Music Society compiles data and information for the music profession. Published annually, the Directory of Music Faculties in College and Universities, U.S. and Canada is a valuable resource for anyone searching for information about music schools, their faculty, and degrees they offer.
Truth and Reconciliation Commission Final Report
The Indexed TRC Calls to Action is a resource that connects the 94 Calls to Action to the relevant parts of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Final Report. The indexed pages provide an entry point into the Final Report for each of the subdivisions of the Calls to Action. This resource is an educational tool designed to enhance the accessibility of the Final Report, promote engagement with the Calls to Action, and thus help further the reconciliation project initiated by the TRC. Created by the University of Victoria Libraries.
Phase 1 of the UNDL features the integration of the 3 UNBISnet databases into one; digital content, mainly official UN documents and selected UN maps, with metadata from UNBISnet for UN-produced materials, as well as speech and voting records. UNDL metadata records will link to open access UN content. The UN plans to add and integrate additional collections of digital materials as they are created or are made available to us by UN departments, offices, and agencies