Skip to Main Content
Find resources at UVic Libraries
Grants & Awards and Fine Arts Librarian
Welcome - Renaissance art
This page will introduce you to some resources and databases on Renaissance and early modern art.
Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data covering different periods and cultures, and documenting the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
Index of Christian Art
The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include this manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century). As is to be expected, there is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. The database is both text and image although some works of art may not have an accompanying image. Approximately thirty percent of the images, due
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Online
Explore nearly 400,000 works of art from the Museum's encyclopedic collection.
Use these databases to find articles about your topic.
Art Full Text
Includes full-text (1997-) and citations/abstracts of international, peer-selected publications—with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Contains abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues. The records consist of bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing; abstracts may be in English or in French, index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French.
Art Index Retrospective
Cumulates citations to Art index (1929-1984). It contains records for items in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer applications and graphics, etc.
International Bibliography of Art
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Cites articles for more than 700 periodicals, including some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous specialized magazines covering archaeology, classical studies, dance, journalism, linguistics, philosophy, theology and much more. Indexing goes back to 1984, and abstracts back to 1994.