Skip to Main Content
Find resources at UVic Libraries
Grants & Awards and Fine Arts Librarian
Web resources for medieval art
Images of medieval art
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
A simple and straightforward means to discover medieval manuscripts that are available on the web.
Online research resource of the Piedmont Morgan Library. Thousands of digital images from the libary's renowned collection of manuscripts from the medieval and renaissance eras. Spans ten centuries of Western illumination.
Index of Christian Art
Index records of works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include this manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century). As is to be expected, there is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world.
Articles on medieval art
Use these databases to find articles about your topic.
Art Full Text
Includes full-text (1997-) and citations/abstracts of international, peer-selected publications—with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Contains abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues. The records consist of bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing; abstracts may be in English or in French, index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French.
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library and includes citations to material published in English as well as European languages. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion
Index of Christian art
The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400
International Medieval Bibliography Online
Comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.
International Bibliography of Art
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years
ITER: Gateway to the middle ages and renaissance
(400-1700) Iter was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources. Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceed
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.