Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Anthropology 391 [Generations: Korea] - Fall 2020

Welcome & Library Seminar Learning Outcomes for ANTH 391 [Gerations: Korea]

Welcome to the UVic Libraries

The Mearns Centre for Learning - McPherson Library is located at the heart of campus. While our library buildings remain closed at present, we're committed to supporting you this Fall 2020 semester. View the Libraries Fall 2020 available online services and check now and then for updates

ANTH 391 [Generations:Korea] Library Seminar - September 22-2020

  • Presented by Kathleen Matthews, Subject Librarian (Earth & Ocean Sciences, Physics & Astronomy, Biology & Forest Biology, Anthropology); kmatthew@uvic.ca

Learning Outcomes: At the end of this session you will:

- Know how to access & navigate the UVic Libraries and online resources from off campus:

With your NETLINK ID & PSWD which should work in most cases

Via the UVic VPN client if necessary to ensure a more secure access environment

- Be familiar with the Libraries Fall 2020 Services, such as : 

Re:Quest Servicefor print books; On campus study spaces; Online Workshops

- Know how to access Anthropology journal article databases and find eBooks for your research

- Know how to develop search strategies to discover resources for your research

- Be encouraged  to ask for library help via AskUs@uvic.ca

- Follow library news on Social Media: Instagram I Facebook I Twitter I YouTube | LibraryNews

- Know how to access the ANTH 391 Library Guide

Strategies for Discovering Resources in the Scholarly Publication Ecosystem.

Summon Search Strategies: Origin Stories Show & Tell Assignment

Library Search (aka Summon)

Find journal articles [and other resources] via Summon 2.0, the Libraries' interdisciplinary search & discovery service. Summon is an intuitive and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the University of Victoria Libraries collections. It searches through our collection of books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles. Rather than searching for all of these things in separate databases, Summon provides a single unified search box.e-books, dissertations, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more.

Enter your search terms in the box in the centre of the library homepage (as shown below).

Try searching with these keywords:

generation* boomer* ethnog*
generation* millennial* ethnog*
generation* millennial*
generation* Xennial*  
generation* [korea OR "south korea" ] millennial*


Once you run the Summon search, a list of search results will be returned. Results can be narrowed down in many ways including: format (i.e. eBooks, newspaper articles, peer-reviewed journal articles or videos); publication date; full-text availability; and, language. Refine to Discipline Anthropology.

Click on the image to enter a search in the Summon Search Box

  • Search (AKA Summon) searches across the majority of UVic Libraries' resources (books, articles, databases, videos, reports etc)
  • Books & media searches the print books and eBooks in our collection (AKA Voyager)
  • Course reserves searches course reserves system
Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.