Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Anthropology 319 Library Seminar - MayJune2022

ANTH 319 Library Seminar - Outline of Topics

ANTH 319: Research Methods in Archaeological & Biological Anthropology

The ANTH 319 Library Seminar presents strategies for finding peer reviewed articles to support the research assignments described in detail in the following course document:

ANTH 319 Library Seminar Topics [May 12, 2022 ]

  • Navigating the UVic Libraries Web Site

  • Overview of the "Online Scholarly Publication Ecosystem"
    [PPT & PDF links below]
  • Finding JOURNAL ARTICLES via the Web of Science [WOS] database

    • use keyword search strategies [phrase searching; truncation]  
    • limit results sets to peer reviewed articles [primary & secondary research articles]
    • mine the article abstracts and metadata for more relevant keywords 
    • critically evaluate articles [strategies: times cited; author information]
    • use "beyond keyword" strategies to find relevant articles [articles cited, authors]
    • export references from WOS to EndNote Online [a citation management tool]
    • create reference lists using EndNote Online saved references
    • use the EndNote Online Cite-While-You-Write plug-in for WORD
  • Finding JOURNAL ARTICLES via Summon and Google Scholar

  • Finding JOURNAL ARTICLES in subject specific Anthropology databases

Hands on time activities will be interspersed with the demos 

Activity #1 [Web of Science Search]

Follow the steps listed in the WOS Demo with various keyword strategies, based on your research topic, and save 2-3 articles to the "Marked List " folder .

Activity #2: [EndNote Online]

Open the "Marked List" from Activity #1, export to EndNote Online, and create a Bibliography.

Activity #3: [EndNote Online and WORD]

Download and install the Cite While You Write Plug-into Word on on your laptop. 

Open WORD and create 2 in-text citations and review the reference list created. 

Activity #4: [Library Search - Summon]

Enter keywords used Activity#1, in Summon, and export 2 peer reviewed articles to EndNote Online.

Scholarly Publication Ecosystem - Searching Beyond Keywords

Searching the Web of Science [WOS]

Finding Journal Articles: Web of Science

  • Select Databases option under Search options tab on the Libraries Home Page

  • Link to the Web of Science database on the Databases page

  • Register with the Web of Science  ["Register" tab is beside the "Sign in" tab ]

    • Why register with the Web of Science?

      • To add references to your EndNote Library 

        • EndNote  is a Citation Management tool integrated with the Web of Science

  • Once Registered, sign in to the Web of Science
  • Searching & navigating the Web of Science [WOS]

    • Explore the WOS Help for tips on Boolean operators (AND,OR, NOT), phrase searching, truncation] . Select the Guided tour option and select "Search Tools".

  • Demos:

    • Topic search #1 with keywords skelet* age estimation "transition analysis"

      • Explore the Result Set.

        • Refine by document Type "Articles"

        • Change sort order to "Citations: highest first"

        • Refine by Web of Science Categories: Archaeology, Anthropology

        • OR... Refine by Publication Title

      • Examine a record in WOS

      • Identify metadata for referencing

      • Review abstract to look for new keywords

      • Consider searching by "Author Keywords" or "Keywords Plus"

      • Explore "Cited References"

      • Explore "Citations" [articles citing this article]

      • Link from a WOS record to the PDF of the article via "Where can I get this?" link

      • Select "Add to Marked List" if article is of interest for further consideration
    • Topic #2 search with keywords  skelet* age estimation "case stud*"

    • Topic #3 search with keywords skelet* age estimation data tables
       

  • Keyword strategies: See also Web of Science Help pages: Click on the "Purple ?" 

    •  skelet*  [truncation to find skeletal, skeleton ]

    • "human evolution"  [phrase searching]

    • primatology OR primates [broadens search: either keyword is in result set]

    • "age estimation" AND "transition analysis" [narrows search:  both phrases in result set]

    • archaeology AND ("pacific northwest" OR "British Columbia") 

Activity #1:

  • Follow the above steps with various keyword strategies, based on your research topic. and save 2-3 articles to the "Marked List " folder .

BREAK TIME 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

PREVIEW for on EndNote Online Demo - after a break]
[tips for generating a bibliography]:

  • Select Bibliography under the Format tab in EndNote Online

  • Choose the group folder where the references have been gathered

  • Select a bibliographic style

    • Notes: Setting up "favourite" Bibliographic styles

      • Before choosing a Bibliographic style, open the Select Favorites option

      • Highlight styles of interest and move them from "All" box to the "My Favorites" box.

  • Select txt as the File format

  • Select the Preview & Print button.

  • EndNote : Cite While YouWrite Plug-in for WORD

    • Sample WORD document

Other Strategies & Resources [Exploring Summon & Google Scholar]

Finding Journal Titles Subscribed to by the Libraries

  • Search the Journal & newspaper titles tab under Search options

  • Journal titles to search: [Do not search for journal articles by this route]

    • Journal of human evolution

    • Journal of Archaeological Science

    • Journal of Archaeological Science Reports

    • American Journal of Physical Anthropology

    • International Journal of Primatology

  • See also E-journals by subject

Other strategies for Finding Journal Articles and Books

  • Search for known items listed in the references cited in article PDFs and in print books and eBooks

  • Search for "known" print books and eBooks by title or author in the Libraries Books & media catalogue

  • Search for "known" journal articles by title of article in Web of Science, or Summon, or Google Scholar.

 

Searching Summon (Search box on Libraries home page)

  • keyword searching

  • "known item" searching

  • refining a search

  • reading the Preview

  • saving items to the temporary "Saved items " folder

  • connecting to the full text or PDF
     

Searching Google Scholar

Activity #4: [Library Search - Summon]

Enter keywords used in Activity #1, in Summon, and export 2 peer reviewed articles to EndNote Online.

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.