Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
(Formerly Microlog) Indexes publications and research literature issued by all levels of government in Canada. UVic subscribes to all items in CRI for British Columbia from 1998 onwards (titles listed in the Main catalogue and available in Microforms).
The largest and most comprehensive journal index for the discipline of political science providing citations, abstracts and indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields (1975-present).
Database of bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
Public Affairs Information Service contains references from journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more, from over 120 countries throughout the world (1915-).
The Africa Bibliography is a guide to works in African studies published by the International African Institute since 1984. Cambridge platform embargoes most recent 2 years. Print volumes 1984 - 2009 at Call number Z3502 A35, BCS.
The Latin America Data Base (LADB) is an on-line publisher and information resource. LADB produces three weekly electronic publications (Sourcemex, NotiCen and NotiSur) and maintains an on-line searchable data base of over 24,000 articles (from back issues of LADB publications) as well as Latin American journals.
Contains principally western-language articles and book chapters published since 1971, on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to all parts of Asia (East, Southeast, and South Asia). Includes: Asian Survey, China Journal, The China Quarterly, Critical Asian Studies, The Journal of Asian Studies, Modern China, positions: east asia cultures critique, China Review.
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library and includes citations to material published in English as well as European languages. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion.
Initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library to provide a place to find resources for Indigenous studies. Electronic copies of books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, and maps are included.
Best best - articles from other disciplines
Use these databases to find articles about your topic.
Full-text database of scientific, technical and medical information. ScienceDirect content includes journals from Elsevier and other science/technology/medical publishers in addition to an expanding suite of secondary databases.
Citations and abstracts for development studies, earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography, including refereed scientific papers; trade journal and magazine articles; product reviews, directories and more. GEOBASE includes the subset database GEOGRAPHY.
Detailed journal abstracts and coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine & freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government and includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Also contains some international (and Canadian) material.
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Search them simultaneiously for best results.
Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 . Detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
CAB Direct is the most thorough and extensive source of reference in the applied life sciences, agriculture, natural resources and health incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health.
A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covering theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.