SAGE Research Methods is a remarkable new tool created to help faculty, librarians, and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links book, journal, and reference content with instructional materials on research methods concepts that help researchers design projects, understand particular methods, conduct research, and write up findings.
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks--or tertiary sources--are frequently overlooked sources of scholarly knowledge. If you want a great definition of a theory that goes beyond wikipedia, I highly recommend these titles held by UVic Libraries. The library has tertiary sources on thousands of topics. Not sure where to get an overview of your research topic in Gender Studies? Remember, there's probably a dictionary, encyclopedia, or handbook for that.
Handbook of Feminist Research by 
Handbook of Gender by 
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by 
The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory by 
The SAGE Handbook of Feminist Theory by 
Handbook of International Feminisms by 
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Psychology by 
The Oxford Handbook of Gender and Politics by 
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by 
Handbook of Research with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Populations by 
Routledge Handbook of Identity Studies by 
Palgrave Handbook of Gender and Development by 
The Routledge handbook of gender and development by 
The Oxford Handbook of Transnational Feminist Movements by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by 
Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World by 
The Oxford Handbook of Gender in Organizations by 
Handbook on Well-Being of Working Women by 
APA Handbook of Men and Masculinities by 
Handbook of Children and Youth Studies by 
Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality by 
The multimedia encyclopedia of women in today's world by 
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by 
The Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Media by 
Handbook of Feminist Family Studies by 
The A to Z of Feminist Philosophy by 
Handbook of Relationship Initiation by 
The Palgrave Handbook of Sexuality Education by 
The Palgrave International Handbook of Gender and the Military by 
Handbook of Research on Race, Gender, and the Fight for Equality by 
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender by 
The Palgrave Handbook of the Psychology of Sexuality and Gender by 
Handbook of the Sociology of Sexualities by 
The handbook of language, gender, and sexuality by 
Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime, and Justice by 
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Breast by 
Critical Terms for the Study of Gender by 
The Transgender Handbook by 
The Oxford Handbook of Women and Gender in Medieval Europe by 
International Handbook on the Demography of Sexuality by 
Routledge International Handbook of Crime and Gender Studies by Handbook of Research on Gender and Economic Life by 
Handbook of Marriage and the Family by The Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Media by 
The Oxford Handbook of Sexual Conflict in Humans by 
The Palgrave Handbook of Gender and Healthcare by 
Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies by 
The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theology by 
Routledge International Handbook of Sexuality Health and Rights by 
Ask us
