LibGuides: Social Dimensions of Health: Grey Literature

What is Grey Literature?

"Grey literature stands for manifold document types produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats that are protected by intellectual property rights, of sufficient quality to be collected and preserved by libraries and institutional repositories, but not controlled by commercial publishers; i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body." (12th International Conference on Grey Literature, Prague, 2010)

Examples of grey literature include reports, white papers, conference proceedings and theses/dissertations.

Please note that in the United States of America, GRAY is how it is spelled, while in Commonwealth countries, GREY is how it is spelled.

Grey Literature Sources

WorkWideScience.Org
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world (Architecture: What is under the Hood). Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.

The WorldWideScience Alliance, a multilateral partnership, consists of participating member countries and provides the governance structure for WorldWideScience.org.

On behalf of the WorldWideScience Alliance, WorldWideScience.org was developed and is maintained by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), an element of the Office of Science within the U.S. Department of Energy. Please contact webmaster@worldwidescience.org if you represent a national or international science database or portal and would like your source searched by WorldWideScience.org.
World Health Organization
Grey Matters: a practical tool for searching health-related grey literature
Grey Literature Report
From the New York Academy of Medicine, the report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected urban health topics.

Grey Literature resources are cataloged and indexed using MeSH. The database allows full text keyword searching as well as subject searching and serves as an archive for the Reports.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (USA)
EPPI-Centre
About the EPPI-Centre
The EPPI-Centre is a specialist centre for: (i) developing methods for systematic reviewing and synthesis of research evidence; and (ii) developing methods for the study of the use research.

The EPPI-Centre is based in the Social Science Research Unit in the Department of Social Science, UCL Institute of Education, University College London. The work of the centre started in 1993, the name ‘EPI-Centre’ was used from 1995 and we then changed to the current name of ‘EPPI-Centre’ from 2001.
Kaiser Family Foundation (USA)
GreyNet International
MetaLib (USA)
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Open Grey
System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents.