LibGuides: POLI 458/533 The Environmental Politics of Chains and Networks: Academic studies

Chain literature - Academic

Search strategies:

Try the databases listed below, which focus on political science literature from leading journals and publishers worldwide. Books and ebooks may also be listed, but for a complete search of UVIC books and ebooks, consult the Library catalogue as well.

For useful databases from other disciplines (econmics, agriculture, environment, gender) see the databases listed under the FIND ARTICLES tab.

Use SUMMON to simultaneously seach all those listed below, and more.

Use the Quick Search Politics and Government to search simulteously three important political science databases. (IBSS, PAIS, WPSA)

Canadian Public Policy
Primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
PAIS International with Archive
Public Affairs Information Servicecontains references from journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more, from over 120 countries throughout the world (1915-).

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) Database of bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA)
The largest and most comprehensive journal index for the discipline of political science providing citations, abstracts and indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields (1975-present).
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA)
Journal that provides abstracts of current political science articles. 2007 to the present.
Africa Bibliography
The Africa Bibliography is an authoritative guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984. Online consolidated version.
Latin America Database
An on-line publisher and information resource that produces three weekly electronic publications (Sourcemex, NotiCen and NotiSur) and maintains an on-line searchable data base of over 24,000 articles as well as Latin American journals.
Berkeley Electronic Press (bepress)
Includes Political Science, Policy, and International Studies journals such as World Political Science Review.

Web of Science Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.

Science Direct / SciVerse
Includes Women's Studies International Forum and Womens' Studies Quarterly

Journals (selected)

World Bank Research Observer
European Journal of Development Research
Journal of Economic Geography
Economic Geography
Economy and Society
Competition and Change
Review of International Political Economy
IDS Bulletin
World Developments
Journal of International Economics
Journal of Cleaner Production
International Journal of Sociology of Agriculture and Food
Regulation and Governance
Review Fernand Braudel Center

Look up by Journal title in the Library catalogue to locate call numbers or web links.

Use Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory to locate abstracting / indexing and full text information.

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
A database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world and covering all subjects.

E-Books

Ebook collections in UVic Libraries
Springer E-Books
The "Humanites Social Sciences and Law" section includes political science titles. Searches will retreive at the chapter level.
Palgrave Ebooks
Palgrave Macmillan's complete ebook collection covering 8 subject areas: Business & management, Economics & finance; History; Language & linguistics: Literature & performing arts; Political & international studies; Social & cultural studies; Religion and philosophy. Coverage: 2002-
more...less...
Palgrave Connect Political & International Studies Collection

InfoSci-Books (IGI)
The IGI Global book collection contains book titles in over 200 different topic areas covering cutting-edge research in the fields of business and management, computer science and information technology, education, engineering, environmental science and technologies, library and information science, media and communications, medicine, healthcare, and life sciences, public policy and administration, security and forensics, and social science.

Best Bets for researching environmental policy

Environment Index
Detailed journal abstracts and coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine & freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change.

Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
Includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.

GREENFile
A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
PAIS International with Archive
Public Affairs Information Servicecontains references from journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more, from over 120 countries throughout the world (1915-).
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA)
The largest and most comprehensive journal index for the discipline of political science providing citations, abstracts and indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields (1975-present).

Journal titles

Browzine Political Economy Bookshelf
Full text access to journals covering Political Economy Subjects.

POLI 458/533 The Environmental Politics of Chains and Networks

Search everything

Search the library catalogue

Other Useful Databases

Chain literature - Academic

Journals (selected)

E-Books

Best Bets for researching environmental policy

Journal titles