Skip to main content
askus Ask us
Libraries
 

UVicSpace

Information about using UVic's Learning & Research Repository - UVicSpace

ETDs procedures

These instructions outline the process students follow to prepare to submit their electronic thesis or dissertation (ETD) to UVicSpace.

They reflect the policies of the Faculty of Graduate Studies (FGS) and Graduate Amissions and Records Office (GARO), revised May 2011 and updated April 1, 2013.

You should start this process when you are ready to defend your thesis or dissertation. More information is available on the Faculty of Graduate Studies website Thesis and dissertation page. Check out our Theses & Dissertations FAQs.

ETD submission steps

 

  • Register for UVicSpace (you can use your UVic email address but DO NOT use your Netlink password, choose a different password)
     
  • After your oral defense and all revisions have been made, the committee will sign off on your thesis or dissertation. Then, convert the entire final thesis/dissertation into PDF format or, if multiple files, create a PDF e-portfolio. After you have defended your thesis and made corrections, email your Graduate Clerk or garo@uvic.ca and ask for permission to submit your PDF to UVicSpace.
     
  • Name the final PDF file in the following convention:
    Last name_First name_Degree name_Year of copyright.pdf
    e.g. Smith_John_PhD_2010.pdf or Jones_Emily_MASc_2010.pdf
     
  • Submit to the appropriate collection in UVicSpace, according to the following
    • If no Withholding Form, submit to ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations)
    • If Withholding, submit to the appropriate collection indicated on the Withholding form
      • ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations). This collection is commonly referred to as the ETD Open Access collection.  In this collection, the withheld thesis is not accessible, but the metadata is available to the world wide web for the withholding period of 1 year.
      • ETD (Restricted Theses UVic campus only). This collection is commonly referred to as the ETD Restricted collection.  In this collection, the withheld thesis is restricted to viewing from campus computers only for the withholding period of 1 year.  After this withholding period, the thesis is moved to the ETD Open Access collection, and is available for viewing from anywhere on the web.
         
  • If the submission is approved, you will receive an auto-generated email. It may take one or two days for the submission to be archived and become available on UVicSpace.
     
  • Finally, give GARO a signed Thesis/Dissertation approval form, a Library and Archives Canada non-exclusive license, and, optionally, a ProQuest non-exclusive license (if you are submitting to ProQuest).