Find Chinese Materials - HSTR 265 - History of China - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

Chinese Language Resources

Search for Chinese language books in Library Search
Using Chinese search terms in Library Search will bring up Chinese print books and ebooks in UVic Libraries' collection. Please see search tips below:

- Use Chinese search terms.
- Simplified or Traditional Chinese search terms will retrieve almost the same search results.
- Use the Content Type and Language filters on the left of the result page to limit your results to books in Chinese language.
- If you locate a Chinese ebook through Library Search, click at the title to get to the record page, then click at the Web Link in the record to access the ebook.
Search for Chinese language books in the library catalogue
UVic Libraries' catalogue has the capacity to search the Chinese scripts of Chinese materials, but with the following functional limitations:

1. The search results are displayed in romanized forms instead of in Chinese scripts.
2. Searching with Simplified Chinese characters (简体中文) will retrieve books in Simplified Chinese only.
3. Searching with Traditional Chinese characters (繁體中文) will retrieve books in Traditional Chinese only.

However, these limitations can mostly be circumvented if you use Primo, the main library search box to search for Chinese language materials.

Union Catalogues in Greater China:

CALIS Online Catalogue - China
Union Catalogue - Taiwan
Hong Kong Academic Library Link HKALL is a project in accelerated resource sharing jointly undertaken by the academic libraries of eight local tertiary institutions
虫部落学术搜索

Chinamaxx Digital Libraries UVic Libraries has a collection of about 500 ebooks from this database. Users can also search the whole Chinamaxx collection by selecting "试读全库书“. This will enable you to search million of Chinese ebooks and read the first 17 pages. If you need to read the whole book, you can use the "推荐“ button to recommend the book. It may be ordered after the librarian's review and become available in a week.
iRead E-books from Taiwan, Hong Kong and Mainland China
You may either browse or search the e-books. All titles selected by UVic are also included in our library catalogue. If you wish to recommend a book to purchase, please contact yingliu(at)uvic.ca.

Books from the China-US Million Book Digital Library Project (CADAL) It provides free access to many digitized Chinese rare books. It also supports searching in Traditional Chinese.
Catalogue of Chinese Rare Books - National Central Library of Taiwan A comprehensive guide to digitized Chinese ancient books.
Chinese E-Books in the World Digital Library Click on "Narrow Results" on the left to filter results.
Chinese Rare Books Full Image Database 漢籍善本全文影像資料庫 About 600 titles in full-text format among a total of over 4,000.
Digital Archive of Chinese Buddhist Temple Gazetteers (中國佛教寺廟志數位典藏)
A Digital Introduction to the Chinese Buddhist Cannon
The Chinese Buddhist Electronic Text Association (CBETA) offers users a digitally interactive version of the Chinese canon that widens the scope of use for researchers and practitioners worldwide
Ming-Qing Women’s Writings 明清婦女著
Princeton East Asian Digital Library
Si Ku Quan Shu 四庫全書 (Kanseki Repository)
Si Ku Quan Shu（四库全书）is the main collection of Chinese pre-modern texts from antiquity up to 18th Century. It includes more than 3,400 Chinese works in the fields of classics, history, philosophy and literature.
Sokodo Bunko Full Image Database 雙紅堂文庫全文影像資料庫 University of Tokyo – Institute of Oriental Culture; 500 dramas and novels in late imperial China

Search for Chinese language articles in Library Search
Using Chinese search terms in Summon will bring up Chinese journal articles in UVic Libraries' subscription. Please see search tips below:

Use Chinese search terms.
Simplified or Traditional Chinese search term variations will get almost the same search results.
Use the Language filters on the left column of the result page to limit your results to peer-reviewed & journal articles in Chinese language.
If you locate a Chinese journal article through Library Search, click at the title to get to the "Get It" section, then click at the Journal link to get to the journal page in the CAJ Chinese Journals Fulltext Database (CNKI).

journal

From the journal page, you need to search the article again within the journal.

article

Click at the result to get to the download page and choose PDF to download.

Search CAJ Chinese Academic Journals Full-text Database
CAJ is a comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals. There are 10 Series databases. At present, UVic Libraries subscribe to the following two series: Series F: Literature/History and Philosophy (1994-), and Series H:Education/Social Sciences (2014-).

A Quick Guide to CAJ China Academic Journals Fulltext Database

DuXiu 讀秀中文研究資料搜索
a google-like search engine in Chinese Academic content. Preview of 2-3 pages where your search terms are found is provided. Please use the function of "document delivery 文獻傳送" to request for full-text article or book chapters or please contact yingliu@uvic.ca if you have questions.
Hans Publishers Hans focuses on Open Access publishing, including 160 journals titles. All articles are also available free of charge
PerioPath 臺灣中文期刊篇目索引. Developed by the National Central Library (NCL) in Taiwan, this index database can be used to find Chinese-language periodical articles (both scholarly and general interest) published in Taiwan.
中國現代戲劇資料庫 Chinese University of Hong Kong Library; bibliography and index

Use the Interlibrary Loan Services of UVic Libraries to obtain the fulltext of dissertations and theses if not available through the following databases.

National Social Science Database 国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库 A national, nonprofit, open core journals databases which includes authoritative social science core journals, academic journals and papers. Free registration is required to access fulltext.
National Digital Library of Dissertations and Theses in Taiwan 台灣博碩士論文知識價值系統 The database is provided by the National Central Library of Taiwan. Free registration is required to access Open Access theses and dissertations from Taiwan universities.

Current Major Chinese Newspapers:

People's Daily (Renmin Ribao) The most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. For over 60 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world.

Selected Historical Chinese Newspapers:

Chinese Times 大汉公报
Ming Pao Vancouver Community News Archive
Shenbao 申報 Shen Bao (short for Shen jiang xin bao) was a newspaper published in Shanghai, China from April 30, 1872 until May 27, 1949. It is one of the most important primary resources that reflect the Republican China history. To search the database, please do not use simplified Chinese. The search terms need to be in traditional Chinese characters.
Old HK Newspapers The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays.