Skip to main content
askus Ask us
Libraries
 

Nursing

A guide to nursing resources in UVic Libraries

How is EndNote useful to me?

  • EndNote Online is a free, internet-based citation manager for storing, organizing and sharing bibliographic references. You can create bibliographies in different styles and use the Cite as You Write plugin to help you cite sources in your paper using Microsoft Word. You can access your references from anywhere you have an Internet connection.

 

  • Privacy Information: Endnote Online / Endnote basic is hosted in the U.S.  Personal information will be stored on servers outside Canada.

Register for an Endnote account

EndNote Online

EndNote basic  is a limited reference management tool that is only available online. EndNote basic users can create online libraries with up to 50,000 references and up to 2G of attachments.
There are two versions of EndNote basic.
 The free version of EndNote basic has 21 citation styles and a very limited number of filters and connection files. This version is available to anyone, with no other purchase required. Go to my.endnote.com to create an account.
 The version of EndNote basic available as part of  Web of Science has over 3,000 citation styles and hundreds of filters and connection files. This version is available  freely to UVic students by setting up an account through UVic Libraries in the Web of Science database.  

Register for an EndNote account:

To use EndNote online you need to register for an account. Your account name will be your UVic  e-mail
address. You will also need to create a strong password that is at least 8 characters long and
includes at least one number, one symbol, and a change of capitalization. If you already have a Web
of Science account, use the same logon information for your EndNote online account and your
accounts will be able to cross-reference each other.

Plugins

For EndNote online you'll need to install  the Cite while you write (CYYW) plug-in for Microsoft Word. and the Internet Explorer Direct Export.    A single installer includes both the Internet Explorer Direct Export and Cite While You Write (CYWY) plug-in for Microsoft Word.
Proceed as follows:
 Click Download Installers on the Options tab.
 Click Download Windows MSI to download an installer you can run on your computer or Download Windows with Internet Explorer to install from within your browser.
 Run the installer, clicking to continue as needed. Upon reaching the option to install both the Internet Explorer and CWYW plug-ins proceed.

Cite while you Write Plugin (CWYW):

The CWYW plugin allows you to insert references and format citations and bibliographies automatically as you write papers. You can format an entire bibliography or paper with one click. Integrates with MS Word to make citations and format paper.

Capture Reference Tool:

The Capture reference tool allows you to capture reference data from individual web pages, or from an entire page of references in Google Scholar.

Vocabulary unique to EndNote

References = citations

Unfiled = area or section in EndNote where references are stored when imported unless you choose a group that  you  are  creating or have created.

Group = folder  You can create new groups and assign a name to each group.  References can be stored in more than one group. This is especially useful if you are using some of the references for more than one paper.

.ris =  name of the file extension needed for EndNote to convert your references you may be exporting from a database into EndNote.

Gathering references

There are a variety of ways to gather references into EndNote online. They are listed  and explained here in order of usefulness to Nursing students:

1.  Direct Export

These references come from outside of  the Endnote system.  You are starting with a search in Summon, or CINAHL, or PubMed for example. Once you have found the references you need,  use the tools within the search tool  to export the references into Endnote. Generally the references will be stored in the Unfiled  reference file.  It is good practice to keep the Unfiled reference file empty.  Move the references as you populate this section  into a relevant group you have created and named.

2. Import References

These are references that you have stored in a .ris file.  The file was created because you could not export directly into Endnote Online. Click on the Collect  command in the EndNote Toolbar.  Choose the Import References link.  Follow the instructions to find this file and open it. Then select RefmanRis to convert to  your Endnote account. You can import directly to a group that you have created and named or the Unfiled section under My References.

3.  Use the Capture Button

The Capture button on the Internet Explorer toolbar for EndNote online can be used to import data from the Web that is not  found in a database, such as individual webpages or  references in GoogleScholar.   Not all the information needed for the reference  may  import.  Check the information carefully, edit as required and add what is needed manually.
Some databases, such as PubMed, will allow you to capture multiple records while others may only allow you to capture one record at a time. Please note that although the Capture bookmarklet can capture much of the same data as the Capture button on the Internet Explorer plug-in can, it may produce different results than the plug-in with some data sources.

4..  Enter a  New Reference  manually

This option is used when you need to enter a citation manually. Click on the Collect  command in the EndNote Toolbar, then New Reference. Select the reference type, for example  edited book, thesis, unpublished work etc. to obtain the form with the relevant fields. 

5. Online search

Use this feature when you are looking for items in a library catalogue.  In general these are book records. You'll find many catalogues listed under the select window, including U_of_Victoria _2016. Click on the Collect  command in the EndNote Toolbar to find the online search feature.

Organizing EndNote References

Under the Organize command on the EndNote tool bar you can manage your groups.

Options include deleting, renaming  and sharing groups.  You would use the Sharing option if you are working in a team and others need to see the references you have collected.  Note that while you can share the references,  the pdf's do not transfer to other team members.  

You may also want to find  and delete duplicate references.  You can check for duplicate references and select the relevant one. 

In some cases you may also want to manage attachments.  These generally are pdf's of the references you have imported.  If you are running out of space, you could eliminate some pdf's that are no longer as useful.

Getting help with EndNote

Workshops:

How to use Endnote (Windows version) in 7 minutes

How to use Endnote (Macintosh) in 6 minutes

Other sources:

Notes:

  • Access your account from Web of Science or my.endnote.com
  • Accounts have roaming access for one year. Sign on before the year ends to continue roaming access.
  • Need to add a style? Under FORMAT select Favorites.  See  Endnote Online Help
  • If you need a style not listed under Favorites, email                askref@uvic.ca

Endnote X7  tips