Learn by watching health videos on topics such as human anatomy, surgical procedures and health news. Test your knowledge with the interactive tutorials and games. Check your health by using the calculators and quizzes.
"The Pillbox website was developed to aid in the identification of unknown pills (oral solid dosage form medications). It combines images of pills with appearance and other information to enable users to visually search for and identify oral solid dosage form medications."
"Simple and straight-forward videos give you the basics of brain biology. Get an overview of how the brain works and how mental illness is linked to brain function. Learn about brain regions, neurotransmitters, gene studies, brain imaging and more. "
Developed by the National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI), with the support of the Immunization and Respiratory Infections Division, Public Health Agency of Canada, to provide updated information and recommendations on the use of vaccines in Canada. (7th ed.)
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the US and around the world and provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.
"DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements."
The tutorials listed below are interactive health education resources from the Patient Education Institute. Using animated graphics each tutorial explains a procedure or condition in easy-to-read language. You can also listen to the tutorial.
"The nonpartisan Kaiser Family Foundation is "dedicated to filling the need for trusted, independent information on the major health issues" of the US. Its free website is an excellent source of information and analysis for a wide range of readers, from policy makers and health care practitioners to journalists and the general public. Resources include white papers, fact sheets, and sophisticated policy research, along with interactive quizzes, maps, and presentations. The site also serves as a clearinghouse for important heath policy news and information from other sources, with new items featured on the home page. The sites can be browsed by topics or by report type. The foundation also provides up-to-date health data for all 50 states, along with multimedia presentations on health policy issues and research methodology."
Good health information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions as well as lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Medpedia is a "long-term, worldwide project to evolve a new model of sharing and advancing knowledge about health, medicine and the body among medical professionals and the general public." "It is intended to become a repository of up-to-date unbiased medical information, contributed and maintained by health experts around the world, and freely available to everyone." The editors are all physicians or PhDs.
The US Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). CAM is a group of diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not presently considered to be part of conventional medicine. Some health care providers practice both CAM and conventional medicine.
"RxISK is the first free, independent website where patients, doctors, and pharmacists can research prescription drugs and easily report a drug side effect — identifying problems and possible solutions earlier than is currently happening.
There are few professionals who have the profile and international reputation of our founding team, which includes people who have risked their careers in speaking out about adverse drug events, such as David Healy and Nancy Olivieri, as well as international experts on pharmaco-vigilance such as Ralph Edwards from World Health Organization’s Uppsala Monitoring Center."
Provides links to prerecorded 1-hour long webcasts of surgical procedures. These are actual operations performed at medical centers in the United States since January 2004. You need Flash to view videos after July 15, 2007 whle before this you require RealPlayer. You must disable pop-up blockers.
Use UpToDate to learn more about a medical condition, better understand management and treatment options, and have a better dialogue with health care providers. To get started, just enter a search term in the search box.
A Canadian source for reliable, evidence-based and up-to-date information on women's health and lifestyle issues. Find the latest information, news and research findings on women's health, diseases and lifestyle trends. The site is updated several times a week, and is backed by women's health experts at Women's College Hospital.