LibGuides: Engineering -- Mechanical Engineering: Find Standards

What are Standards?

A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose. International standards ensure that products and services are safe, reliable and of good quality.

Source: ISO Standards

Finding Standards in UVic Databases

ASCE Library
An online full-text civil engineering database providing the contents of peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, e-books, and standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers.
ASTM Standards and Digital Library
The ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a collection of standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Techstreet
Techstreet provides access to selected international, national, state and local industry codes and standards. The fields covered include boiler, constructions, electronics, energy, petrochemical, food, medical, telecommunications, water and welding.

More Standards

ASSIST - Quick Search
ASSIST-Quick Search provides direct access to U.S. Defense and Federal specifications and standards available in the official DoD repository. MIL documents are available as free PDF downloads to the public. Hint: MIL/DOD-STD-xxx, MIL/DOD-HDBK-xxx, MIL-specs, MIL-PRF, DIDs (DI-xx-nnnnn) are all available here. By putting in the base number only (no letters or rev levels) in the "Document Number" field, you will see everything in the ASSIST database with that number, even if the document has changed from a SPEC to a PREF, etc.
CSA Group - Codes and Standards
The largest standards development organization in Canada.
NSSN National Resource for Global Standards
The NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards is a search engine that provides users with standards-related information from a wide range of developers, including organizations accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), other U.S. private sector standards bodies, government agencies and international organizations.

Other Resources

Publications of the Canadian General Standards Board

The library receives these standards in paper format and they are shelved in the Reference area at call number QC100/C3C2. An online index is available - click on Publications of the Canadian General Standards Board to browse Standards Index.

1023-2020 - IEEE Recommended Practice for the Application of Human Factors Engineering to Systems, Equipment, and Facilities of Nuclear Power Generating Stations and Other Nuclear Facilities - Redline [electronic resource]. by IEEE
Call Number: ELECTRONIC
ISBN: 1504475461
Publication Date: 2021
Canadian Electrical Code, Part 1: Safety Standard for Electrical Installations by Canadian Standards Association
Call Number: TK152 C37 2015
ISBN: 9781771397186
Publication Date: 2015
P280/D23, Feb 2021 - IEEE Draft Standard Letter Symbols for Quantities Used in Electrical Science and Electrical Engineering by IEEE
Call Number: ELECTRONIC
ISBN: 1504474821
Publication Date: 2021
PV and the NEC by Bill Brooks & Sean White
Call Number: ELECTRONIC
ISBN: 9781003018773
Publication Date: 2021
Used throughout the United States and many other countries, the National Electrical Code (NEC) is the world's most detailed set of electrical codes pertaining to photovoltaic (PV) systems. PV and the NEC presents a straightforward explanation of the NEC in everyday language. This new edition is based on the 2020 NEC, which will be used widely until 2026, with most of the interpretations and material staying true long after. This book interprets the distinct differences between previous versions of the NEC and the 2020 NEC and clarifies how these code changes relate specifically to PV installations.
Standards for Engineering Design and Manufacturing by Ahmed Wasim Khan & Abdul Raouf
Call Number: ELECTRONIC
ISBN: 1420026402
Publication Date: 2006