LibGuides: Engineering -- Computer Science: Find Articles

Search everything

Library Search Basics

Journal Impact Factor (JIF)

“the average number of times articles from the journal published in the past two years have been cited in the JCR year”

calculated by dividing the number of citations in the JCR year by the total number of articles published in the two previous years
Example: For a particular journal, there are 200 papers published in 2014 and 150 papers published in 2015. In the year 2016, the total 350 articles were cited 650 times

The Impact factor (2016)= (total no. of citations obtained in 2016 from previous two years of publications)
(total no. of papers published in 2014 and 2015)

650 / 350 =1.85

For more information on JIF http://admin-apps.webofknowledge.com/JCR/help/h_impfact.htm

Best Bets

ACM Digital Library
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in Association for Computing Machinery periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947 are available here together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
Business Source Complete Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 . Detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
CiteSeer Scientific Literature Digital Library
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Inspec (Engineering Village)
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
ScienceDirect Full-text database of scientific, technical and medical information. ScienceDirect content includes journals from Elsevier and other science/technology/medical publishers in addition to an expanding suite of secondary databases.
Scopus
Scopus indexes content from 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers to provide a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Quickly find relevant and trusted research, identify experts via author profiles, and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
Web of Science
Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.

Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
Hosts nearly two million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. CoRR was founded in 1991 and is now maintained and operated by Cornell Tech.

Applied Science & Technology Index Citations for more than 700 core English-language, scientific and technical publications. Topics include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management.
MathSciNet Covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 75 years. It provides Web access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications. It provides links to original articles and free access to Featured Reviews.

Selected Journals

Suggested journals to help you with your research.

SIAM Journals Online
The accelerated electronic journals of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). See LOCUS for titles in SIAM's Online Journal Archive published since from 1952-1996.
SIAM Online Journal Archive (Locus)
Locus contains the electronic full text for every SIAM journal article published from the journal's inception through 1996. Locus articles are available as fully searchable PDFs; full metadata is available for each article. Articles published between 1980 and 1996 contain reference links to Mathematical Reviews, Zentralblatt fur Mathematik, and to the cited article via CrossRef (when available). Reference links back through the 1952 content will be added to Locus by 2007.

Engineering -- Computer Science

IEEE Xplore

Google Scholar

How do I know if a journal if peer-reviewed?

Ask Us

Search everything

Library Search Basics

Journal Impact Factor (JIF)

Best Bets

Selected Journals